[Fitness] Faster way to burn fat

March 20, 2007

Have got my cholesterol level report.. I have quite a normal profile but it can be better. My “Bad Cholesterol” level is 116 while an optimal level should be less than 100. There are several ways to cut down “bad cholesterol” level. One of them is to have a low-fat/healthy diet which avoids all kinds of fried food (which happens to be my favourite!). Another way is to do more exercise and cut down weight.

I have read on several articles on how to burn fat more effectively and most recently I watched on local news about a form of interval training that involves an 8 second sprint on a stationary bike followed by a 12 second light cycle which can burn three times more fat than normal cardio exercise.

Researchers at the University of NSW and the Garvan Institute studied 45 overweight women over 15 weeks, putting them through a 20 minute cycling regime in which they sprinted on a stationary bike for eight seconds followed by 12 seconds of cycling lightly.

“They lost three times more weight as other women who exercised at a continuous, regular pace for 40 minutes,” UNSW Associate Professor Steve Boutcher said. [Source]

If this is true, isn’t it great? I will verify this by trying out the method myself. For my normal jogging routine, I am going to try sprinting for 8 seconds and slow jogging for 12 seconds. My weight has been the same for last 3 years. If the method is really effective, I hope to lose some extra weight and be fitter.

2 Responses to “[Fitness] Faster way to burn fat”


  1. […] Published March 27th, 2007 Fitness Promised to update on using the new cardio exercise to burn fat more effectively.. I have tried this method for 1 week (3 times). But there isn’t any visible impact yet. […]

  2. Sam Says:

    Most people are concerned about thier weight. I lost 3kg a month by not eating after 6pm daily. It’s work on me. I think is the lesses fats being built up when I was sleeping. But, the harder parts is you have to be serious on this weight loss plan. Because, foods temptation is the main cause to give up yourself.


Leave a Reply

